3rd Generation MiBox help -> internet settings?

Discussion in 'Xiaomi Mi Box / Mi TV' started by georgelishere, Aug 29, 2014.

1. georgelishere

Aug 29, 2014
    Male
    Hey guys, I'm new here; hope you can help me out with this issue I'm having. I apologise up front for the wall of text that is to follow.

Let me first state that I already went through all the threads to check if my problem (or something similar) has been posted already, but it hasn't... or at least not that I know of :p Also, I'm a complete noob when it comes to internet settings.. for more popular devices (PS3, iOS etc) I can usually find explanations online, but with the MiBox I'm having less luck.

I just recently got the 3rd gen MiBox when I was visiting family in China and everything was already installed for me. With everything I mean I have a bunch of Chinese apps such as VST, Sohu PPTV and the like. I know the box works fine, because I had my uncle test it, who has one of his own; he never had any issues with streaming.

So now that I have it home and connected to our 100mbps glass fibre internet, everything has been really slow. I've been able to watch stuff on both iCNTV and 3rd party apps, however it would require an enormous time to buffer, especially the full HD and ultra HD shows. I'm pretty sure it's not because of the location of the servers since the same streaming apps work flawlessly on the computers. In addition, the MiBox keeps attempting to connect with the Access Point that is further away, even though they are set up the same.

TL;DR: Does anyone have an idea how to correctly set up the internet connection on either the MiBox or the router to allow fast internet connection? The down speed is just depressing, barely hitting 200kb/s at the most. Thanks in advance!:D

2. Mahe

MaheMembers

Aug 27, 2014
    Male
    Same here having problem with buffering. Have you tried using USB 2.0 to 10/100Mbps RJ45 LAN Ethernet Network Adapter for MiBOX?

3. georgelishere

Aug 29, 2014