Safenet Fix for Stable Releases - Options, pros and cons - Genuine question

lamekiller

Members
Nov 22, 2023

Hello everyone from the Xiaomi.eu forum.​

Firstly, I'd like to commend the developers of this Custom ROM, which I've been using for a couple of months since I got my first Xiaomi Phone (Mi 11 Ultra). It has brought me joy thus far.

Recently, we received "news" that Google is targeting our solution for their commercial, unjustifiable reasons, leading to the restriction on the usage of capabilities my device already has. This resulted in the discontinuation of support for the "fix" that was typically embedded in stable ROM versions. Now, it will only be included in weekly update releases, which, unfortunately, are no longer available for my version and model since the transition to HyperOS.

It's a fact that Google Wallet no longer works on ROMs with the old fix. However, upon checking Safenet, it successfully passes even the robust Safenet, which Magisk Safenet Fix fails to do.

So, here are my questions:
  • Besides Google Wallet, I haven't observed any issues in other apps, except for those I know and have workarounds for (such as a specific banking app that only works on the second space due to anomaly detection on the first space). I haven't updated my ROM to the latest release to avoid losing my "hanging on a thread" Safenet passing. Is it worse to root my phone and go through a cumbersome process to hide the root just for Google Wallet? Wouldn't it be better to give up on the Google Wallet and retain the benefits this fix provides? Or am I already in a precarious situation, and apps will soon stop working (and I don't know)?