Ready to try flash xiaomi.eu ROM

AlanMc

Members
Sep 27, 2018
Hi guys,

I just got a xiaomi mi 8 from china, its on mui 9.5 and has the stock recovery installed.

I want to flash twrp and try the xiaomi.eu rom but am unsure about 1 thing since this is my first time to flash a phone without an SD card slot.

All of the threads I have seen here and on XDA say transfer the rom to internal storage, format or wipe? data and then flash the rom.

but doesn't formatting data wipe the phones internal storage? so then the rom will have been deleted from the internal storage?

When I flash twrp, what are the exact steps to wipe or format data? im not sure which options to chose in twrp

Thanks guys

Hey Alan,

The format and wipe piece from TWRP is just to get rid of the files related to the old ROM. Makes for a fresh install.

Once you boot into recovery with TWRP, click into Wipe. You can see that the default Wipe with swipe option does Data, Cache and Dalvik.

This option should be enough, this won't touch your internal storage (emulated sdcard) so your downloaded ROM will still be there.

To get comfortable with this process, I suggest you use TWRP to do a Backup of the current ROM on your device. Then follow the steps above to Wipe the data with the swipe option. Reboot into recovery again and see that your ROM backup is still there, on the internal storage (emulated sdcard)

God speed.

Rob

Hi guys,

I just got a xiaomi mi 8 from china, its on mui 9.5 and has the stock recovery installed.

I want to flash twrp and try the xiaomi.eu rom but am unsure about 1 thing since this is my first time to flash a phone without an SD card slot.

All of the threads I have seen here and on XDA say transfer the rom to internal storage, format or wipe? data and then flash the rom.

but doesn't formatting data wipe the phones internal storage? so then the rom will have been deleted from the internal storage?