Can not make or receive calls with my mi max 3

cranefly

Members
Aug 23, 2018
I may have bought this phone too early, although i think it is a fantastic beast of a phone, i love it, but i can not seem to make or receive calls in my house connected to my home wifi. even if i turn the wifi off, it will still not work, when i reboot the phone it will work for one call or one text, it sometimes says emergency calls only, and then it will say 3G with full bars, even then it will not make a phone call unless i reboot it. i am on 3 ireland, they tell me it is an issue with the phone. I bought it from an ebay seller, he put google playstore on the phone, so i guess it is a china rom, but on ebay he said it will get OTAs so that is why i bought it, it did say it was a global rom, but not official i suppose, i did not know the difference til now. I wish this problem was fixed, because i love this phone. Is their any solution i could try, i am not that technically minded to flash roms and open bootloaders.

So i have been reading a few different xiaomi discussion forums, it seems i will need to flash an official global rom when it is out, and this may fix my problem, i have never done anything like this, so this will be a new learning experience. I was just reading my phone as is, may not get any OTAs from xiaomi. unless it is the official global rom, yet to be released, i do not mind waiting for this, does anyone think that this would solve my issue.

Last edited:
Hi

Think you will have to get slightly technically minded and flash a rom to solve your problem of a dodgy chinese shop rom. It's not a global rom, it hasnt been released yet)