48MP Raw for 3rd Party Apps on Mi 9 EEA?

picitup

Members
Mar 29, 2019
Hi All

I've been looking for a phone camera to shoot 48MP RAW for 3rd party apps so I can use Open Camera. I have a P20 Pro, but Huawei don't offer any RAW options on this phone for 3rd party apps. I've been chasing them for over 3 months now and they say nice things, but no commitment to upgrade the software.

So...... last week I bought a Mi9 in Spain and found some positive things, but it's not quite there yet. The stock app does have a 48MP jpeg mode, but the output is pretty rough; over sharpened and saturated (oil painting effect). I've tried a *no-support-for-this-app-on-this-forum* port which, despite being set to 48MP, only takes 12MP (4000x3000) jpegs. Interestingly, the *no-support-for-this-app-on-this-forum* port takes better 12MP photos than the stock app at 48MP. Are the stock 48MP photos upscaled 12MP ones?

Interestingly, Camera2 API Probe from the play store shows Level 3 support, but only 4000x3000 (12MP) max resolution.

So does anyone know how I can take 48MP RAW with a 3rd party app? I'm guessing the answer is a new ROM.

Thanks for reading....

Steve

As I understand it the 48Mpx sensor is actually a 12*4 sensor, where the each 4 binned together are not ordinary pixels, rather have 4 different colors or something.

Last edited:
Yes I've read it's a 'quad bayer' arrangement, but I can't understand whether the only output is pixel binned 12MP or you can get RAW 48mp.

Confusing...

Steve

To be honest I don't understand exactly how this works either, but it is apparent that there are not any ordinary 48Mpx there.

Sony Releases Stacked CMOS Image Sensor for Smartphones with Industry’s Highest 48 Effective Megapixels

https://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/News/Press/201807/18-060E/index.html