Mi5 Screen Done For ? Known Issue ?

mediaklan

Members
Aug 24, 2013
So today I woke up early, switch off my alarm and put my phone in my pocket for an hour. This is what I get now on the screen no matter what I try :
2017-02-08-113306.jpg

The thing is, the phone is working. I can hear login sound, notifications, smart bracelet linked (meaning the bluetooth is on) etc etc etc. But I can't get anything else than random colors on the screen. Recovery mode or rebooting is not doing anything than display these random colors.
So, did you ever heard or see anything like this please ? Am I right to (painfully ...) consider the screen absolutely dead ?

Hi!

Just to check, can you try to reboot into fastboot or recovery mode, to check if the screen problem is still there? If it's a hardware problem (which I think it is) it should be present no matter which mode you boot.

Also, what ROM are you currently using?

I'm no hardware expert, but could it be a loose connector/ribbon? Perhaps the whole screen isn't dead...

Latest rom here, xiaomi.eu_multi_MI5_7.1.20_v8-7.0.
Yep, as mentionned, recovery (TWRP) or rebooting will only produce more random colors. At least I can save some things, for some reason, Fedora will only let me access internal storage from TWRP now (it's quite disturbing to have only access to the phone from adb).
For now, I went as far as deconnecting/reconnecting the battery connector (losing my warranty in the process). No help.

I somehow skipped the part where you said that recovery also shows the problem :p Sorry about that.

Since you have already opened your phone, you could check something else. I think there should be a connector from the screen to the motherboard, perhaps you can try disconnecting and reattaching it? If nothing works... I think a new screen (or phone) is in order...